For the relatively small landmass, the wide geographical variation gives Bhutan its varied climatic character with four distinct seasons (spring, summer, autumn and winter). The southern plain close to the Indian borders are warmer and more tropical, central valley are warmer while the alpine north is cold throughout the year. The central valleys of Punakha, Wangdiphodrang, Mongar, Trashigang and Lhuntse enjoy a semi-tropical climate with cool winters while Thimphu, Trongsa and Bumthang have a much harsher climate, with heavy monsoon rains in the summer and snowfall in the winter. Depending upon the climatic conduction, monsoon rain usually begins in June and lasts until end of august and the winter spanning from December to February can be extremely cold with frequent snowfall in most parts of the northern part of Bhutan.

Comments are closed.

Visit Us On Facebook